An Amazing Trip to Coastal Maine

Brandon D. Wilson
9 min readSep 21, 2018
The Cliff House

The following is an excerpt from an interview with Brandon Wilson, creator of beyondyourcubicle.com, by mock reporter Mr. Nodnos.

Mr. N: Okay now that you have shared your secrets to changing one’s mindset and unlocking potential and fulfillment, let’s switch gears. I hear you recently took your first trip to Maine. Tell me about that.

BW: Fantastic! I’d love to tell you all about it.

Mr. N: Why Maine?

BW: Well my girlfriend Ann and I had never been to Maine. The closest was Boston last summer. It looked to be a good place to visit in August. Also, this was no ordinary trip. It is something called a DreamTrip™, which is much more than a regular stay at some hotel.

Mr. N: What makes this DreamTrip™ so special?

BW: You’ll see.

Mr. N: Okay, where did you stay?

BW: We stayed at the Cliff House in Cape Neddick, Maine. https://www.destinationhotels.com/cliff-house It is located about an hour north of Boston and an hour south of Portland.

Mr. N: Wow, it looks amazing!

Good thing there was room for one more!

BW: It is an incredible place. It is literally on a cliff right next to the ocean. In the first picture you can see one pool and hot tub. This was the adult pool close to the bar. On the other side of the property was the family pool for the kiddies. There was also an indoor pool.

Family pool

Mr. N: It looks like a large resort with plenty to do.

BW: Yes for sure. We arrived Sunday night and were greeted with a welcome reception by our host. Most DreamTrips™ have a host who is onsite during the stay. We enjoyed drinks, snacks, and some relaxation after a day of travel.

Mr. N: A welcome reception? A host? Really?

BW: Yes, our host was Danielle and she was great. She lived near the area and gave us a lot of great suggestions for activities and sights to explore.

Mr. N: That’s something I’ve never had on any trip I’ve taken.

BW: It’s a great perk. The host can also help if something goes wrong on the trip, like lost luggage, reservation stuff like that. Thankfully we didn’t have any issues.

Mr. N: Ok so what was your room like?

BW: So we checked in and they told us, “We’ve upgraded your room.” I thought okay cool. It was just Ann and me so I had expected one room, king bed. We got to the room and the door opened into a living room area that had a full bathroom and private balcony. There was a door to the left and that opened to a bedroom with a king bed and sleeper sofa. There was another private balcony and another bathroom. Back to the living room and we saw another door and that opened to another bedroom with two king beds, another private balcony, and another bathroom. They upgraded us to a two-bedroom suite with three full bathrooms. That’s more bathrooms than my house!

A room with a view

Mr. N: Whoa you could have had multiple families in there!

BW: Absolutely. There was amazing attention to detail in the design and decor of the rooms. The furniture was modern. There was a consistent nautical theme throughout the suite. There were hardwood floors in the living area. The mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. The bathrooms and showers were spacious and luxurious. The bedrooms even had a stand under the tv with LED floor lighting triggered by waving a hand over a sensor.

Mr. N: A suite that fancy you probably had a cappuccino machine, eh?

BW: Funny you should ask that. We looked around and didn’t see any coffee maker. But what I missed when we first arrived was that on every floor by the elevator was a beverage station. Ice, cold filtered water, coffee, tea, cream in these old-fashioned glass jars. It was always stocked and clean.

The beverage station

Mr. N: How convenient. So did you have any events or activities planned for this trip or just see what came up?

BW: On Monday we drove around and explored the area since we had a rental car. We visited Nubble Light House and enjoyed the nearby town of Ogunquit. Another great feature of the DreamTrip™ is included activities. On this particular trip, the planned group event was a lobster and clam bake Monday night.

Nubble Light House

Mr. N: That sounds fantastic! And it was included as part of your trip?

BW: Yes included as part of this DreamTrip™. Each DreamTrip™ has its own unique excursions and activities. All the members of our travel club met in the lobby of the resort, and we took a charter bus to a nearby restaurant called Foster’s.

Mr. N: Okay I get it so the DreamTrip™ is part of this member’s-only travel club?

BW: Yes that’s correct.

Mr. N: Is the lobster as good as everyone says it is in Maine?

BW: Better! I meant to “save myself” and wait for the big dinner for lobster, but I couldn’t resist and had a lobster roll for lunch. It was sublime.

Mr. N: My mouth is watering looking at that plate. I can only imagine what was in store for dinner.

BW: Speaking of dinner. Here is the menu.

  • New England Clam Chowder
  • Freshly Dug Maine Clams
  • Cultivated Mussels
  • Succulent Maine Lobster
  • Sweet Corn on the Cob
  • Roasted Red Bliss Potatoes & Onions
  • Rolls & Butter
  • Hot Drawn Butter
  • Blueberry Crumb Cake

BW: It was incredible. When we arrived at Foster’s we were given a tour by the bake master to show us how they prepare the meal in this large metal box filled with steam.

A true lobster and claim bake

BW: Then we sat down for an amazing feast.

You should have been there

Mr. N: Boy that sign is right! I should have been there. And two lobsters??

BW: Well, the travel club has different levels. And the added bonus for my level was an extra lobster. It was the best lobster I ever had. Sweet and very fresh. I’m spoiled now after having that lobster.

As fresh as it gets

Mr. N: My stomach is growling just thinking about it.

BW: I think my stomach is still full from that night! And not only was it great food but also great company. I met an Amish woman and her husband who are members of the club also. I knew she was Amish because there is a large Amish population in Indiana where I grew up. I introduced myself and asked her where she was from. She said Indiana and then she goes on to name Grabill, the very town where I’m from and where my mom still lives! I couldn’t believe it.

Mr. N: It’s a small world!

BW: Indeed! You never know the kind of fantastic people you will meet who share the same mindset about living life to the fullest and having amazing experiences on a DreamTrip™.

Mr. N: So what else did you do on this trip?

BW: The next day Tuesday was wide open. We chose to explore a nearby area called Perkins Cove, which had many restaurants and shops. Of course more food and these excellent fish tacos.

Did someone say fish tacos?

Mr. N: It certainly looks like you took advantage of the local cuisine.

BW: That I did! And for our last night we decided on our own to take a sunset sailboat cruise. It was a small boat only twelve of us but first time on a sailboat. And it was amazing.

You should have been there!
Sunset in Perkins Cove

BW: The sunset was spectacular.

Mr. N: That video is beautiful. Did you have time to do anything else?

BW: Well the trip was only three nights so we checked out on Wednesday.

Mr. N: I’m almost afraid to ask but I know people are going to be wondering. So how much did it cost to go on this trip?

BW: Okay so when I checked out I told the guy, “Hey I know this room was upgraded as part of the package but if I were to come back with some friends and stay in that same suite we were in, how much would it cost?” And he said, “Well it varies, depending.” And I said, “Just give me the ballpark.” He told me and I didn’t believe him.

Mr. N: How much?

BW: He said between $1300-$1600 per NIGHT. So I went to the website to see what it would cost to book that suite for the same three-night stay Sunday to Wednesday. And this was the cost.

Brace yourself, Effie!

Mr N: Okay I almost fell out of my chair.

BW: Yah that’s pretty shocking but I didn’t pay anywhere near that. Now it’s a little unfair in terms of a comparison because that isn’t the room we booked or expected even though that is what we experienced. So, I did a second search for just the standard one-bedroom room and here is the cost of that one.

Mr. N: Okay that’s better but still a bit steep.

BW: Right and I didn’t pay that either.

Mr. N: So, are you going to tell me how it cost to go on this trip?

BW: I’d be happy to tell you off the record. What I can tell you is that the value I received for what I paid was incredible.

Mr. N: What about airfare?

BW: Airfare is separate. Whether you go on a DreamTrip™ or not you still have to cover airfare. In my case I used Southwest points for my ticket, and Ann flies free on my companion pass.

Who said I can’t get no satisfaction??

Mr. N: I am shaking my head that this is possible.

BW: I assure you it is very possible. You do not have to spend your life savings to have amazing experiences. A DreamTrip™ is just one of many benefits offered to members of the club.

Mr. N: I need to know more about this club.

BW: I would love to tell you all about it, but unfortunately I have run out of time and need to run.

Mr. N: Wait…but what about for the article?? How can people find out more about all this?

BW: I am happy to share this information with anyone who is interested. People can find me at beyondyourcubicle.com or email me at brandon@beyondyourcubicle.com

Mr. N: You’re really leaving me hanging here.

BW: Time flies! I promise I will make the time for anyone who wants to know more about how to go on vacation and have amazing experiences without spending all your hard-earned money. It is life-changing.

Mr. N: I will be contacting you for sure. Thank you for your time!

--

--