Changing my mindset about work

Brandon D. Wilson
5 min readAug 5, 2022

Roughly twenty years ago, I worked for a small, private company that a much larger company acquired. The new company announced that it was paying out everyone’s PTO balance down to just 40 hours. I had about 490 hours of accumulated PTO, the most of anyone in the department and probably top five in the company. That was a nice check, but was it worth the endless weeks and months toiling away without a break?

Some people never met a PTO day they didn’t like. As soon as they accumulate eight hours, they take the day. Good for them. As a manager, I have encouraged team members to take time off. The problem is that historically, I have failed to take my advice. How did I become such a workaholic?

The making of a workaholic

Fifth grade was the first year I brought home straight A’s on my report card. From that point on, my mom expected nothing less. If my report card had all A’s and one B+, she would ask, “What’s with the B+?” If I had all A’s and an A-, she would ask, “What’s with the A-?” If I had three A+’s and the rest A’s, she would ask, “Why aren’t the rest A+’s?” Oh, and forget about taking a day off from school. That was not allowed. I had perfect attendance all four years of high school. These high expectations carried me toward the status of Valedictorian in high school and graduating magna cum laude from college…

--

--