What is your biological age and how can you reverse it?

Brandon D. Wilson
3 min readJan 12, 2023

During summer breaks from college, I worked at a cellular phone company. One of the employees told us a story of when he was in high school shopping with his mom at a department store. They were standing at a counter, and he said, “Hey, mom, take a look at this.” The gal behind the counter said, “Oh, that’s cute that you call her your mom.” He replied, “Because she IS my mom!” The gal was immediately embarrassed by her social faux pas mistaking his mom for his girlfriend/wife.

“I’m looking for the fountain of middle age.” — Rodney Dangerfield in Back to School

When I was younger, people told me I looked older. Perhaps it was how I carried myself growing up around mostly older family members. During my first year of college, I started losing my hair. That was a big one. Instead of using a backpack, I carried a leather accordion-style satchel to class, and the students thought I was the professor. Around this time, hostesses started calling me “sir.” I was self-conscious about it, but eventually, I got over it. I figured one day I would start to look my age and, in a just universe, finally look younger than I am. We all want a youthful appearance, but I’m more interested in my biological age than my chronological age.

Biological age is based on the idea that our bodies are constantly subject to damage and degradation from internal and external sources. By assessing how much damage has accumulated in your body, your biological age shows how old your tissues, systems…

--

--